BAGUS: Kyoko Kimura Interviews Kagetsu Part 2

[Disclaimer: If you pull any of the translations from this video from this page, provide full credit to me as well as a link back to this entry.]

Kyoko Kimura uploaded the second half of her interview with Kagetsu, Special Ambassador for the second Hana Kimura Memorial Show: BAGUS! Previously, Kagetsu and Kyoko discussed when Kagetsu first Hana in Okinawa. In the second installment of Kagetsu & Hana… and Sometimes Mama (Kyoko), the topic of discussion is “Traveling the World Together.”

The premise of the video series is to provide fans an opportunity to learn more about Hana through the eyes of one of her closest friends, Kagetsu.

Continuing from last time, Kagestsu talks about Hana after she debuted.

Kyoko (in pink): “You both went abroad together a lot, right?”
Kagetsu (in blue): “Pretty much every time I went abroad, Hana and I would go together like a matching set.”
Kyoko: “Really?”
Kagetsu: “Yeah, Hana was always there.”
Kyoko: “I remember when it was decided that you would go to Spain, you were so worried about going on your own, you asked me if I could go with you.”
Kagetsu: “That’s right!”
Kyoko: “I was retiring, so I was wondering why you were asking me to go on a Spain excursion together, but Spain was so much fun.”
Kagetsu: “It really was amazing, wasn’t it?”
Kyoko: “Even when we were off, we were always together. We checked out the markets and landmarks (photo of Sagrada Família Basilica).”
Kagetsu: “Yeah, we went to some sightseeing places in the mountains, too.” (group photo of Barcelona Montserrat Cross)
Kyoko: “Do you remember that church that was on top of a mountain? It was like something out of Dragon Quest.” (photo of interior staircase within Monserrat Monastery)
Kagetsu: “Yeah!”
Kyoko: “…and we had that friendly guide, Jose, who took us everywhere, and the promoter, Mr. Carlos was such a nice person.”
Kagetsu: “They were so wonderful and kind to us.” (photo of Kagetsu, Hana & Su Yung)
Kyoko: “(Carlos’) wife was the ring announcer, too. “
Kagetsu: “She was very good at Japanese!”
Kyoko: “Toto (the wife) was Chinese, and so much fun to be around. Everyone there was so kind and hospitable.”
Kagetsu: “We really enjoyed ourselves (while in Spain). Do you remember the street market we went to and the boisterous children there?”
Kyoko: “I remember there was one child that was really shy and didn’t like being picked up and hugged, but I really wanted to give them one, so decided to hug each and every other child there, one by one. I also hugged you [Kagetsu] and Hana… and at the very end, that very shy child finally hugged me.”
Kagetsu: “That’s right!!”
Kyoko: “Now that I think about it. That might have been the last time I picked Hana up and hugged her. Because as adults, we really don’t pick people up into our arms like that, even during matches.”
Kagetsu: “That’s something that people do abroad though, right? Around that time, it was Hana’s twentieth birthday!” (photo of Hana with a birthday cake)
Kyoko: “Oh that’s right!”
Kagetsu: “Hana tried sangria for the first time, and loved it!”
Kyoko: “Looking back, she often asked about having sangria for a while after that time.”
Kagetsu: “She made her own sangria by hand and gave it to me!”
Kyoko: “How was it? Were you all right?”
Kagetsu: “It was really delicious.”
Kyoko: “It was? That’s a relief! I’m glad she was able to make it successfully.”
Kagetsu: “She made things for me often. She always translated for me, too.”
Kyoko: “Whenever I would go abroad with Hana, she wouldn’t do anything for me!” *Kagetsu laughs* “But, I’m relieved that when left on her own, she did things on her own. Instead of being her Mom (when we traveled), I felt like her tour guide. Hearing she did these things for you, is a relief.
Kagetsu: “We had so much fun together. We had more fun sightseeing than when we had to work.”
Kyoko: “That may be true, but you both still had lots of fun when we were wrestling. You had your dancing entrance with the kimono.”
Kagetsu: “Hana’s kimono was super popular.”
Kyoko: “You wore a kimono-style entrance gown as well, right?” (photo of Hana, Kagetsu and child)
Kagetsu: “I think it was a happi (short length kimono coat)”
Kyoko: “Are you sure it was a happi? It was definitely something traditional Japanese clothing-inspired.”
Kagetsu: “We really had a great time.”
Kyoko: “I have so many memories. Almost too many memories.”
Kagetsu: “Seriously! I feel like we could just keep talking and talking forever. Maybe we could do this again sometime?”
Kyoko: “Yes, let’s think about it! We could talk about OedoTai’s takeover of the world!”
Kagetsu: “Sounds like a plan!”


In the video of Kagetsu doing pull-ups at the beach, Kyoko and Hana count how many pull-ups she does.

Hana: “There’s someone doing pull-ups behind you!”

Kagetsu outlasts the guy behind her, completing ten pull-ups. At the water, Hana realizes that they are not at a Japanese beach, pointing out that a woman is topless (which is normal in parts of Europe).


With regard to May 23rd, Hana Kimura Memoria Show 2: BAGUS!

Kyoko: “It’s rapidly approaching, so let’s about BAGUS…”
Kagetsu: “It’s already that time again, isn’t it?”
Kyoko: “Last year, the show sold out very quickly, so there were many people who were unable to attend (due to COVID restrictions, including attendance caps). This time around, it’s a Monday, so I am worried there will be people who won’t be able to make it this time as well1. That being said, I want to grab people’s interest, making them wonder what is going to happen on the show this time as well.”
Kagetsu: “Having another show is a chance for people to share their memories of Hana and she impacted their lives. It could be described as a day of reflection about her.”

“I want people to wonder what will they may miss out on if they don’t attend. I want them to be curious about how we’re going to do. There are so many things we need to do in preparation, but I want people to leave feeling completely satisfied with what they experience. Sometimes I wonder what I would be doing if we didn’t (have this show). I know many fans would still be very sad, especially if they are home alone. Personally, it’s my hope that this event will make people remember what Hana was like and how she made people feel. I know that her loss meant many people still feel sadness and loneliness, but I hope people’s memories of her also include her being cheerful, energetic, and always laughing…what’s the word I am looking for… she was the life of the party. I want people not to forget that side of her, too, because those are part of her memory, too.”

Kyoko Kimura (talking at length about the Memorial Show goals

Kagetsu: “There are times when I think, ‘Oh that’s totally Hana…’ (or something Hana would do)…”
Kyoko: “She had a laugh that carried so far. That was one of her best qualities.”
Kagetsu: “I thought about this last year, when Kyusei Sakura Hirota (entered the rumble cosplaying at Hana), I did a double-take!”
Kyoko: “When I saw her, I thought it was a really interesting approach she took, presenting herself as Kyusei Hana Kimura2 at the show, instead of as herself. However, when she did her entrance, she looked so much like Hana, I started crying. It wasn’t something I was supposed to laugh at [because Hirota specializes in comedic impersonations], I mean, I was laughing and crying at the same time, but she looked almost too much like Hana. I realized that I wanted to see this sort of entrance by someone in the show. This year, Kyusei Hana Kimura is coming back again (thanks to Hirota’s participation in the sequel event). I’m really, really looking forward to seeing her again.”
Kagetsu: “You know, I am sure if Hana saw (Hirota’s version of her), she’d probably laugh so much.”
Kyoko: “I mean, she laughs at the smallest things, like dropping chopsticks. You’re right, she’d definitely appreciate it. She’d probably ask to take a photo together as well.”
Kagetsu: “Without a doubt!! Like last year, the plan for this year is to spend quality time with everyone and have fun. I’ll do my best as an ambassador!”
Kyoko: “Kagetsu… as ambassador, will you be there the day of as well?”
Kagetsu: “Yes, that sounds great!3
Kyoko: “That’s the spirit! This will be the first time in a while since you’ve last seen fans, right?”
Kagetsu: “It’s been a year. The last time was at Mana, Ne! (the previous Hana Kimura Memorial Show).”
Kyoko: “I may ask for a lot of your help coming up!”
Kagetsu: “I’ll be there tearing so many tickets!!” *laughs*
Kyoko: “Wouldn’t that be wonderful!”
Kagetsu: “Welcome! Welcome!” Kagestu mimics tearing tickets at the venue entrance.
Kyoko: “You’re going to have the longest line!”
Kagetsu: “Just for me to tear their tickets?”
Kyoko: “You know that people are going to want to talk to you and ask you for pictures while you’re trying to work the front door, right?”
Kagetsu: “Oh that means people won’t be able to get in smoothly!”
Kyoko: “That would be a problem!”
Kagetsu: “I’ll move the line at a fast pace! I’m really looking forward to the event!”
Kyoko: “In closing, please give a message to those who have decided to come as well as those who might be on the fence about coming to the show.”

“All right! If you’ve already purchased a ticket, I will also be returning to Korakuen Hall for the first time in a very long time. Let’s celebrate the memory of Hana together, and have a bagus4 (Indonesian: good; great) time together. Also, if you’re unsure about buying a ticket and joining us… ARE YOU SURE YOU WANT TO MISS OUT?!” *laughs* “Of course, the global pandemic is still continuing, so I know it is difficult to say, ‘please come to our show,’ but May 23rd only happens once a year. No matter where you are we want to bring everyone together as one not only to celebrate Hana’s memory but do it in a way that reaches her during this one-day celebration. I hope you’ll consider joining us if possible, and know that I’ll be waiting for you at Korakuen Hall. I’m looking forward to seeing as many people as possible at the show.”

Kagetsu

Kyoko: “Thank you so much!”
Kagetsu: “Thanks again!! See you the day of!”


Hana Kimura Memorial Show: BAGUS! Event Information

Date/Time: Monday, May 23, 2022 (630PM JST)
Venue: Korakuen Hall
Check the event homepage (or scan the QR code) for details including ticket information and merchandise. No international live streaming availability announced.

#木村花バグース!


Notes

  1. While employees in Japan do receive paid time off/vacation leave, very seldom do people use it. The rare occasions are situations like weddings, funerals, or exceptional circumstances. This is a large cultural difference between Japan and western countries.
  2. Kyusei means maiden name or nee.
  3. The line and pose Kagetsu does is from a famous variety TV program called「笑っていいとも」which ran from 1982-2014. This was the catchphrase they could use throughout the show when everyone would agree!

One thought on “BAGUS: Kyoko Kimura Interviews Kagetsu Part 2

Comments are closed.